Page 1 of 1

Build Error using the autobuild script

Posted: Sun Jun 11, 2006 9:09 am
by mark

Code: Select all

[root@unknown newtoolchain]# ./toolchain.pl PS2

Dependencies:
 gcc:           Found!
 make:          Found!
 wget:          Found!
 patch:         Found!
 svn:           Found!
 $PS2DEV:       Found!
 $PS2SDK:       Found!
 path:          Found!
 privs:         Found!

Step 1 of 6: binutils-2.14
 downloading:   Done!
 unpacking:     Done!
 patching:      Done!
 building:
  ee:           Done!
  iop:          Done!
  dvp:          Done!

Step 2 of 6: gcc-3.2.2 (C)
 downloading:   Done!
 unpacking:     Done!
 patching:      Done!
 building:
  ee:           Error!

=====================
== ERROR DETECTED! ==
=====================

echo timestamp > s-genrtl
gcc -c -DIN_GCC -DCROSS_COMPILE   -g -O2 -W -Wall -Wwrite-strings -Wstrict-prototypes -Wmissing-prototypes -Wtraditional -pedantic -Wno-long-long  -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -DGENERATOR_FILE    -I. -I. -I../../gcc -I../../gcc/. -I../../gcc/config -I../../gcc/../include ../../gcc/genflags.c -o genflags.o
In file included from ../../gcc/genflags.c:27:
../../gcc/rtl.h:125: warning: type of bit-field ‘code’ is a GCC extension
../../gcc/rtl.h:128: warning: type of bit-field ‘mode’ is a GCC extension
gcc -c -DIN_GCC -DCROSS_COMPILE   -g -O2 -W -Wall -Wwrite-strings -Wstrict-prototypes -Wmissing-prototypes -Wtraditional -pedantic -Wno-long-long  -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -DGENERATOR_FILE    -I. -I. -I../../gcc -I../../gcc/. -I../../gcc/config -I../../gcc/../include ../../gcc/rtl.c -o rtl.o
In file included from ../../gcc/rtl.c:24:
../../gcc/rtl.h:125: warning: type of bit-field ‘code’ is a GCC extension
../../gcc/rtl.h:128: warning: type of bit-field ‘mode’ is a GCC extension
gcc -c -DIN_GCC -DCROSS_COMPILE   -g -O2 -W -Wall -Wwrite-strings -Wstrict-prototypes -Wmissing-prototypes -Wtraditional -pedantic -Wno-long-long  -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -DGENERATOR_FILE    -I. -I. -I../../gcc -I../../gcc/. -I../../gcc/config -I../../gcc/../include ../../gcc/read-rtl.c -o read-rtl.o
In file included from ../../gcc/read-rtl.c:24:
../../gcc/rtl.h:125: warning: type of bit-field ‘code’ is a GCC extension
../../gcc/rtl.h:128: warning: type of bit-field ‘mode’ is a GCC extension
../../gcc/read-rtl.c: In function ‘fatal_with_file_and_line’:
../../gcc/read-rtl.c:62: warning: traditional C rejects ISO C style function definitions
../../gcc/read-rtl.c: In function ‘read_rtx’:
../../gcc/read-rtl.c:662: error: invalid lvalue in increment
make[1]: *** [read-rtl.o] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/mark/Desktop/programming/PS2DEV/newtoolchain/gcc-3.2.2/build-ee/gcc'
make: *** [all-gcc] Error 2


ERROR: Error!

[root@unknown newtoolchain]#
When it says GCC found at the beginning i currently have 4.1.1 installed. I'm also running Fedora Core 5.

Any help here? Thanks

Posted: Sun Jun 11, 2006 9:37 am
by Drakonite
GCC 4.x cannot build older versions of GCC, such as the version of gcc3.x that ps2dev uses.

There is nothing we can do about it unfortunatly.

Just about all distros should provide a clean and easy way of installing a version of gcc3.x.

IIRC gcc3.4 has issues as well, so you'd need gcc3.3.x ...

Posted: Sun Jun 11, 2006 10:11 am
by mark
Thanks I'll get to it.

Posted: Sun Jun 11, 2006 5:07 pm
by ooPo
Using gcc-3.4 should be fine. Install it and use:

CC='gcc-3.4' ./toolchain.pl PS2

Posted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 11:34 am
by mark
It's been successfully compiled, it would be safe for me to upgrade back up to the latest version of gcc, correct?

Posted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 11:58 am
by Drakonite
You should be able to have both versions of the host gcc installed at the same time, which I'd recommend in the events you have to rebuild things or need to build something else which doesn't work with gcc4.x.

...but otherwise it's should be okay to remove the older host gcc if you don't want it around, though you won't be able to rebuild or upgrade the ps2dev toolchain..

Posted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 12:15 pm
by mark
Thanks, I was able to build the samples included perfectly after upgrading again - and i was unaware you could have both on the same system, I'll have to look into that