It's what happens when you try to get cygwin working on multiple drives on multiple window OS's :P
I'm having problems figuring out why the psp crashes if I have a byte over 1.75MB, yet the same code works fine on the PC version. It's probably a very easy fix, since I think I'm getting blind from looking at the same bits of code all the time :P Unless its a psp specific problem. Crashes even on a slim psp with the extra ram, so I'm doubtful its a limited ram issue.
The code is here:
video_hardware_draw.cpp
and here is another piece related to it.
video_hardware_surface.cpp
I will be very grateful if anyone can see where the problem is! Thanks.
Library needed for sceGeEdramSetSize?
-
- Posts: 376
- Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 11:31 pm
Just a random thought while glancing over the code...
Maybe the crash isn't because of the massive global array, but with how this array is indexed or used etc.
As a test I would suggest leaving the MAX_LIGHTMAPS as is as 28, and just declare the array something like...
If that works, then hard code whatever size it is that you require and try that too.
I have a sneaky feeling your crash has nothing to do with the size of your lightmaps variable, but with how it's used after that point.
Maybe the crash isn't because of the massive global array, but with how this array is indexed or used etc.
As a test I would suggest leaving the MAX_LIGHTMAPS as is as 28, and just declare the array something like...
Code: Select all
byte lightmaps[1835008 + 10]; // If the total amount of bytes exceeds 1835008
I have a sneaky feeling your crash has nothing to do with the size of your lightmaps variable, but with how it's used after that point.
I think I might be wrong about the 1835008, it looks to be higher then that now if I set it manually. It seems to be more about 2622152 before I get a black screen. What I would ideally need is 4194304 to display all the lightmaps in a map.
Something perculier happens if I start using more then 1835008 though! Some sounds don't play anymore, and at 2622152, no sounds play.
I guess its overwriting some of the quake heap. And the more I use, it must start using up memory thats needed to run the game. Heap size is 40MB though. Any idea on how to solve that? :P Thanks for the help so far!
Something perculier happens if I start using more then 1835008 though! Some sounds don't play anymore, and at 2622152, no sounds play.
I guess its overwriting some of the quake heap. And the more I use, it must start using up memory thats needed to run the game. Heap size is 40MB though. Any idea on how to solve that? :P Thanks for the help so far!
-
- Posts: 376
- Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 11:31 pm
-
- Posts: 376
- Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 11:31 pm