3d Modeling for game development

Discuss the development of new homebrew software, tools and libraries.

Moderators: cheriff, TyRaNiD

Post Reply
Dariusc123456
Posts: 388
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2008 12:46 am

3d Modeling for game development

Post by Dariusc123456 »

How can I make a 3d model for the psp without manualling entering the code. I will understand if I have too.
J.F.
Posts: 2906
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2004 11:41 am

Post by J.F. »

Just use a "normal" format, like maybe 3ds. You'll find example loader code for that and other formats all over the net.
Dariusc123456
Posts: 388
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2008 12:46 am

Post by Dariusc123456 »

Cool, thanks. I just need to ask before I start on the game. What is the limit on size of the game.
J.F.
Posts: 2906
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2004 11:41 am

Post by J.F. »

Now that is hard to say. Given you asked about 3D models, I'd guess you're doing a 3D game. The biggest thing is Phat or Slim - the Phat only has ~ 24 MB for the game and all its data. The Slim has over 50 MB. Let's put it this way - Quake 2 will run on the Phat, but Quake 3 is too big.

In 3D, one thing you could do to make level data fit better is to use 16 or 256 color textures when you can. Most examples you'll see for the PSP use 32 bit textures - those use four times the memory that a 256 color one the same resolution would use.
Dariusc123456
Posts: 388
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2008 12:46 am

Post by Dariusc123456 »

Thanks. How come that sony games is more than that it should? or are you talking about the game loading into the ram?
J.F.
Posts: 2906
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2004 11:41 am

Post by J.F. »

Dariusc123456 wrote:Thanks. How come that sony games is more than that it should? or are you talking about the game loading into the ram?
?

That post made no sense at all. :)

I'm talking about what's in memory, of course. You can have as many level/sound/data files as will fit on the memstick. Games like Quake don't load EVERYTHING into memory. Just what's needed for the current level, and sometimes not even everything for the level.
Dariusc123456
Posts: 388
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2008 12:46 am

Post by Dariusc123456 »

Oh, ok. Ill search on google for some examples. Maybe in a month or so, ill make a modeler for psp users to make 3d models, or levels. Then output the things into c or c++. Lol, im thinking a bit over my head, lol. But sony uses there own make level editor.
Dariusc123456
Posts: 388
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2008 12:46 am

Post by Dariusc123456 »

Ok, I found some examples, but when you said about 3ds, do it need to be extracted from the file, or I just open the file within my code?
User avatar
jean
Posts: 489
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2008 2:44 am

Post by jean »

you want to code a 3d modeling software in a month when you did never see one? mmhhhh....begin to walk, then to run. If you want my opinon, maybe it's better for you to praticize with every other aspect of a game before putting yourself into 3D.
PS: if you can't manage to open and parse 3ds files, check out .OBJ that's way simpler!
Dariusc123456
Posts: 388
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2008 12:46 am

Post by Dariusc123456 »

I use a 3d modeler. One is from 3d Game Studio. I planned on making something similar to it for psp systems. Sony, have one, so, why cant we?
User avatar
jean
Posts: 489
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2008 2:44 am

Post by jean »

...because there are lots of free/open source PC program that perform better than every average tool we could ever write. Believe me, 3d modeling isn't a nut; i wrote tools for sub/supersample models, generate BSPTrees, generate lightmaps and so on... better to save your time and just write a couple of exporting tool for famous softwares.
Post Reply