Need help with Toolchain

Discuss the development of new homebrew software, tools and libraries.

Moderators: cheriff, TyRaNiD

Post Reply
Nava
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 7:02 pm

Need help with Toolchain

Post by Nava »

Ok,

So I have tried, many many many times, to get this to compile properly, to no avail.

I install all of the correct packages, but i always get the same errors.

Like just now I got the same error ive been having the most trouble with.

ls: cannot access /usr/include/gmp.h: No such file or directory
ERROR: Install gmp before continuing
..depends/check-gmp.sh: Failed
ERROR: Could not run the toolchain script.

Now,

Ive tried removing the checking file from that directory, and I get the exact same error for both readline and mpfr

I have these packages installed, so I have no idea why this is happening.

I have also uninstalled, and reinstalled all of them. Along with uninstalling everything and reinstalling it again more than a few times, still no luck.

Anyone have any ideas as to what i might be missing?
User avatar
Wally
Posts: 663
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2005 11:25 am

Re: Need help with Toolchain

Post by Wally »

Nava wrote:Ok,

So I have tried, many many many times, to get this to compile properly, to no avail.

I install all of the correct packages, but i always get the same errors.

Like just now I got the same error ive been having the most trouble with.

ls: cannot access /usr/include/gmp.h: No such file or directory
ERROR: Install gmp before continuing
..depends/check-gmp.sh: Failed
ERROR: Could not run the toolchain script.

Now,

Ive tried removing the checking file from that directory, and I get the exact same error for both readline and mpfr

I have these packages installed, so I have no idea why this is happening.

I have also uninstalled, and reinstalled all of them. Along with uninstalling everything and reinstalling it again more than a few times, still no luck.

Anyone have any ideas as to what i might be missing?
Perhaps the toolchain is looking in the wrong location.

I bet this is the case, try looking in /opt/local/include for gmp.h , if its there point the toolchain to that directory.

Wally
Nava
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 7:02 pm

Post by Nava »

I dont have an opt folder...


Something must be wrong here, and ive followed multiple guides, on my numerous installations
Insert_witty_name
Posts: 376
Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 11:31 pm

Post by Insert_witty_name »

gmp & mpfr are now required by the toolchain so install them.

You don't mention what platform you're on, but you also need to install readline too.
Nava
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 7:02 pm

Post by Nava »

I have all 3 of them installed, thats what doesnt make any sense.

Im also running on a Windows XP Home Edition SP3
User avatar
bkc
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue May 20, 2008 8:45 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by bkc »

If your running under Windows XP... why not use MinPSPW? then you won't have to use cygwin :-)

Edit: And (almost) all libraries exists as "addons" (devpaks), like in Dev-C++ :-) Really easy to use
I only speak these languages:
  • C / C + +
  • (x)HTML
  • PHP
  • CSS
  • SQL
  • JavaScript
Nava
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 7:02 pm

Post by Nava »

@ bkc

Do you think that you could provide me with a link to MinPSPW?

I just want to make sure I get the right stuff, lol, I would like to have no problems with this installation :-)
jojojoris
Posts: 255
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2008 4:06 am

Post by jojojoris »

Nava
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 7:02 pm

Post by Nava »

Well seeing as how I have this thread open I figured I would ask my next question in here instead of opening a whole new thread.

Im in the process of learning C#, and I was wondering if I code something for the PSP and compile it, will it run? Or do I have to learn C/C++ or Java?
User avatar
bkc
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue May 20, 2008 8:45 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by bkc »

The psptoolchain only handles C/C++ what I know of... With Java you need a program to run the program... just like on windows / linux :-)
I only speak these languages:
  • C / C + +
  • (x)HTML
  • PHP
  • CSS
  • SQL
  • JavaScript
Pirata Nervo
Posts: 409
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 4:22 am

Post by Pirata Nervo »

It does compile ASM too
Image
Upgrade your PSP
User avatar
bkc
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue May 20, 2008 8:45 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by bkc »

Right... sry... forgot that one xD
I only speak these languages:
  • C / C + +
  • (x)HTML
  • PHP
  • CSS
  • SQL
  • JavaScript
Nava
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 7:02 pm

Post by Nava »

Well, Ive been told in my learnings that C# is extremely similar to C/C++, so I guess it cant hurt to try and compile a hello world program in C# right?
pspjoke
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2008 10:10 am

gmp mprf

Post by pspjoke »

u have to install the devel packages of those.
i got thrown off with this problem to a lil bit ago...
Onii
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2008 1:07 pm

Post by Onii »

C# code will not compile under a c++ compiler. They are completely different.
Nava
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 7:02 pm

Post by Nava »

Could someone tell me the devel packages i would need to compile it in C# and maybe a compiler?

Or am I going to have to start all over and learn C/C++
J.F.
Posts: 2906
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2004 11:41 am

Post by J.F. »

You'd need Mono to compile C#, and it's not available for the PSP at this time. Your full choice of languages on the PSP are: MIPS assembly, C, C++, Obj-C, D, Lua, Python, sdlBasic, and J2ME. Someone let me know if I missed one. :)
Nava
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 7:02 pm

Post by Nava »

@ J.F.

Which one of those languages would be the easiest to learn?

Having to start all over again seems a little tedious lol, so Id like the learning to go smoothly :-)
User avatar
bkc
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue May 20, 2008 8:45 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by bkc »

Well... J2ME is Java (Java 2 Micro Edition (correct me if I'm wrong) ) and LUA should be fairly similar to Basic if I have understoud it right...

i personally think that C/C++ is fairly simple... but thats just me ;-)
I only speak these languages:
  • C / C + +
  • (x)HTML
  • PHP
  • CSS
  • SQL
  • JavaScript
Nava
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 7:02 pm

Post by Nava »

I heard that for Java you need to have other programs to make it run? Or is that just for the PC?

Also do you think that learning LUA will be easier seeing as how it has such a big help forum here on the boards? Or is Java less complex?


LOL, sorry for all the questions, I dont mean to be a nag and all, Im just curious before I choose one and start learning.
User avatar
bkc
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue May 20, 2008 8:45 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by bkc »

Well... as explained by J.F. you will need J2ME to run Java programs... For LUA you'll need "LUA Player", LUA should be fairly simple to learn sense it's a scripting language ( sure looks that way :-D ) and looks a lot like the old Basic-language ( but with more functunality like wlan and stuff... )
I only speak these languages:
  • C / C + +
  • (x)HTML
  • PHP
  • CSS
  • SQL
  • JavaScript
J.F.
Posts: 2906
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2004 11:41 am

Post by J.F. »

There's two different versions of J2ME floating around. There's also regular python and stackless python. There's LuaPlayer and the Lua libraries for Lua. Seems to be two of everything. :)

Lua and python would probably be the easiest to learn, and sdlBasic would probably be next.

If you know Java, J2ME would be fairly easy to learn.

C/C++/D are all about the same. They aren't that hard to learn, but certainly harder than Lua or python or Basic.

MIPS assembly would be the hardest for most people. For some odd reason, most programmer totally choke on assembly. That's because they're totaly spoiled with Lua and python. :D When I first started programming, we had assembly and we were thankful! You wrote the program to fit in 368 bytes (by hand), and entered it with DIP switches. Anywho, it seems that unless you started out with assembly, programmers never become comfortable at working with it. All my original programs were 100% assembly. Even in Windows.
Post Reply