Part of screen black

Discuss the development of new homebrew software, tools and libraries.

Moderators: cheriff, TyRaNiD

Post Reply
Ghoti
Posts: 288
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 11:06 pm

Part of screen black

Post by Ghoti »

k i'm a little in a pickle right now, I have this strange problem with my game the upper part of my screen say 1/4 of the total screen is not rendered anymore.

I only have altered some code but even when i comment the whole sub out and no call to it is done i still get the upper part black. So now i am back to the part where I was before when everything worked perfectly but still got the problem :(:(:(:(:(:(

i feel powerless at the mmoment

does anybody has slightly an idea of what is going on? i use no scripting language, i use the png lib and the graphics.c for drawing
starman2049
Posts: 75
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 5:41 am

Post by starman2049 »

I was plagued by something like this for months, although my black section of screen was more like 10%, not the 25% you are describing, and there are a number of possible reasons for this. My black screen came and went as I added code to an expanding project.

For me I discovered (rather randomly) that if I don't clear the color buffer than my problems went away for good. I havn't seen the black screen in over a month now. I just changed things as below:

Code: Select all

//   sceGuClear(GU_COLOR_BUFFER_BIT|GU_DEPTH_BUFFER_BIT); // old code
   sceGuClear(GU_DEPTH_BUFFER_BIT); // new code
It might be blind luck, or change in timing, or whatever, but one things for sure it killed me for over three months and it's gone for sure now.

Of course, not clearing the color buffer requires that you have completely enclosed scenes...

Give it a try. Like I said It's probably got more to do with timing than not clearing the back buffer, but if it helps you then great...
Energy
Posts: 133
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2005 4:13 pm
Location: uk/beds/flitwick
Contact:

Post by Energy »

I had this issue for a few days and ended up using doublebuffering and a lot of
sceDisplayWaitVblankStart();

I think that's how I worked it out... :/
Post Reply