Setting up cygwin using Windows XP

Discuss the development of software, tools, libraries and anything else that helps make ps2dev happen.

Moderators: cheriff, Herben

Post Reply
bbchazz
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2005 12:38 am

Setting up cygwin using Windows XP

Post by bbchazz »

I have been setting up cygwin over the last few days and finding some errors. Im following the tutorial from internalreality and the first thing I came across was the 'slashes' being different often.

ex. set PS2DEV=C:\cygwin/ps2dev
set PS2GCC=%PS2DEV%/gcc

I tried the test file that comes along with the ps2lib sample file and got an error. I got this fix by changing all the slashes to \ since thats windows and Linux uses /

Now I am getting more errors that will go to much to explain fully right now. What I want to know is has anyone else tried this tutorial successfully and is there any other options to compile source code or will it be easier for me to make a linux partition on my PC and stick with this routine.

Thanks.
bbchazz
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2005 12:38 am

Post by bbchazz »

Can anyone point me in the right directing...to a tutorial, suggestions, other options...please.
User avatar
Drakonite
Site Admin
Posts: 990
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2004 1:30 am
Contact:

Post by Drakonite »

Yes, people have successfully used that tutorial before. I have no idea what it's telling you to do, and I'm not a windows user, so I can't really help say what you are doing wrong ;) Sorry.


You might want to take a look at This thread, which just happens to be a sticky at the top of this same board...
Shoot Pixels Not People!
Makeshift Development
bbchazz
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2005 12:38 am

Post by bbchazz »

Thanks,

I will give you a little more information when I get home from work after I run it again.

I have read that tutorial but I thought it was for people putting it on a linux system, I will post again when I can clarify whats going on..worse come to worse I will start from scratch and give it another whirl.
misfire
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2004 7:53 am
Location: Germany

Post by misfire »

With Cygwin installed, you can also use ooPo's toolchain autobuild script:
http://www.oopo.net/consoledev/

After installing I had to add some environment variables to my .bash_profile:

Code: Select all

## PS2DEV SETTINGS
export PS2DEV="/usr/local/ps2dev"
export PS2SDK="$PS2DEV/ps2sdk"
export PATH="$PATH:$PS2DEV/bin:$PS2DEV/ee/bin:$PS2DEV/iop/bin:$PS2DEV/dvp/bin:$PS2SDK/bin" 
Worked for me.
bbchazz
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2005 12:38 am

Post by bbchazz »

Isn't the .bash_profile only available when using Linux?
misfire
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2004 7:53 am
Location: Germany

Post by misfire »

Actually, this file comes with Cygwin:
e.g. D:\cygwin\home\misfire\.bash_profile
bbchazz
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2005 12:38 am

Post by bbchazz »

Ok, everything looks to go just fine until it gets to the following point:

ee-gcc: C:cygwinps2devps2lib/ee/startup/crt0.o: No such file or directory
make: *** [pad.elf] Error 1

Now, I know what looks funny with that, the start of the directory has no slashes but I don't know where this line comes from to fix it.
misfire
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2004 7:53 am
Location: Germany

Post by misfire »

You have to set the PS2LIB environment variable under Win XP:
C:\cygwin\ps2dev\ps2lib
And take care of the backslashes.
bbchazz
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2005 12:38 am

Post by bbchazz »

thanks for the help..i ended up using the toolchain to set up the env much easier.
Post Reply