tips for getting tool chain running on debian (Debian)

Discuss the development of new homebrew software, tools and libraries.

Moderators: cheriff, TyRaNiD

Post Reply
snowsquirrel
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2008 3:36 am

tips for getting tool chain running on debian (Debian)

Post by snowsquirrel »

1. For some reason I had ncurses in /lib instead of /usr/lib. Not sure if this a standard with debian, or a MEPIS oddity.
Fix:
ln -s /lib/libncurses.so.5 /usr/lib/.

2. the newlib package kept failing when it tried to patch. The error message pertained to files (config.sub, configure, etc) being locked by Perforce.
Fix:
modify scripts/newlib.sh to do this after unpacking the newlib.tgz, and cd'ing int the newlib dir the add: chmod -R au+w .

3. gdb won't compile, complains of /etc/termcap missing, due to the fact that libtermcap is deprated by libterminfo in debian.
Fix:
apt-get install ncurses-dev

4. insight does not install be default. No sure why. Perhaps it doesn't work with the psp? Can someone comment on the reason for this. (edit: it seems this was put in because this build fails on some distros).
Fix:
remove the 'exit;' line in scripts/insight.sh

Hopefully this information can help someone else.

~S
snowsquirrel
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2008 3:36 am

Post by snowsquirrel »

bump: just realized that this is debian specific, not mepis. changed title.
jimparis
Posts: 1145
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2005 4:21 am
Location: Boston

Re: tips for getting tool chain running on debian (Debian)

Post by jimparis »

snowsquirrel wrote:1. For some reason I had ncurses in /lib instead of /usr/lib. Not sure if this a standard with debian, or a MEPIS oddity.
Fix:
ln -s /lib/libncurses.so.5 /usr/lib/.
Why does it need to be in /usr/lib? It shouldn't matter.
The depends/check-ncurses.sh script looks for /usr/include/ncurses.sh which should exist in any case (although it really should just try test-compiling against it, rather than relying on any particular path layout).
2. the newlib package kept failing when it tried to patch. The error message pertained to files (config.sub, configure, etc) being locked by Perforce.
Fix:
modify scripts/newlib.sh to do this after unpacking the newlib.tgz, and cd'ing int the newlib dir the add: chmod -R au+w .
This sounds like debian bug 200895 and can likely be fixed by just unsetting your Perforce environment variables.
3. gdb won't compile, complains of /etc/termcap missing, due to the fact that libtermcap is deprated by libterminfo in debian.
Fix:
apt-get install ncurses-dev
gdb should use terminfo if it's found. If you hadn't installed libncurses5-dev, you wouldn't have /usr/include/ncurses.h and so depends/check-ncurses.sh should have given an error long before it got to gdb, so I don't know where that issue is coming from.
4. insight does not install be default. No sure why. Perhaps it doesn't work with the psp? Can someone comment on the reason for this. (edit: it seems this was put in because this build fails on some distros).
Right, and probably very few people use it anyway.
snowsquirrel
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2008 3:36 am

Post by snowsquirrel »

Haven't tested, but I am guessing you are right about perforce, I do have it installed, and have env vars set.

I just happened to do a clean install, and so came back to this post to remember how I did it. It looks like I have the links already there for ncurses this time. now sure why.

Here is another question. If I run toolchain.sh as 'joe', with PSPDEV set to ~joe/temp/pspdev, can I then just mv pspdev to local? Is the value of PSPDEV actually baked into any executables? Or is it portable?

edit: looks like it is possible to move the dir around, as long as env vars are set.

~S
Post Reply